What Wegmans does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- Wegmans Shoppers Club
- Members
- No count found. Private company; no member count found.
- Retail media
- Wegmans retail media platform, linked to Rippl (Cardlytics) in 2024. Ad revenue not disclosed
What it collects and does with your data
- Signs posted at Manhattan and Brooklyn stores in January 2026 state Wegmans 'collects, retains, converts, stores or shares biometric identifier information which may include: facial recognition, eye scans, voiceprints,' as required by NYC law.
- Wegmans said it uses facial recognition cameras in a small number of stores to identify individuals who pose a risk, expanding a 2024 pilot.
- Privacy policy (updated 2025-10-29, read 2026-09-25) lists the personal data collected: contact, payment card, account and Shoppers Club number, transaction history, chatbot and survey content, security video and license plate numbers, recorded customer service calls, inferences about shopping patterns, demographics (age, income range, household), website and app activity, cookie and device IDs, IP and, with consent, precise location, SNAP benefit data, and biometric information, which it says is limited to facial recognition used by its asset protection team.
- Policy says store Security Equipment may capture license plates and facial recognition information, records images but no audio, is accessible to limited employees, security service providers and law enforcement, and is not shared, leased or exchanged for anything of monetary value.
- Policy says Wegmans works with third parties like Google or Meta to show Wegmans ads on those platforms, shares customer purchase data with third-party advertising platforms that pass de-identified purchase data on for audience creation and measurement, and uses Google Analytics and Meta tools on its website that enable targeted ads.
- Policy says Wegmans shares personal data, including unique identifiers, with advertisers, marketing partners and data analytics providers it has engaged, and may provide de-identified purchase and profile data, through a retail media network or other platform, to product brands and advertisers to send ads to you.
- Policy says Wegmans obtains information about you from marketing or advertising companies, service providers and social media platforms. It does not list data brokers as a source.
- Opt-out, per the policy: an Unsubscribe link for email; a call to 1-800-WEGMANS for direct mail; the Data Rights Portal for opting out of targeted advertising, sale or profiling, offered depending on where you live (Virginia, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware or Maryland given as examples); Google Ads Settings, the DAA Consumer Choice Tool and the NAI opt-out for interest-based ads.
- Grocery Dive reported that Wegmans linked its retail media platform to Rippl, a Cardlytics data and media network for regional grocers that gives advertisers access to anonymized shopper profiles; Wegmans did not comment.
Sensitive data
- facial recognition
- eye scans (NYC signage)
- voiceprints (NYC signage)
- license plates (security video)
- SNAP benefit data
Enforcement and litigation
None found in the research.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 8. Lower bound: Wegmans, one each for service providers, advertisers, marketing partners and data analytics providers, Google and Meta (the advertising platforms the policy names), and law enforcement. Not counted: brands and advertisers that get de-identified data through the retail media network or Rippl, and USDA FNS, which gets data only on SNAP purchases.
Third parties: 8 disclosed recipient categories. Named: Google, Meta (advertising and website tracking tools). 8 = service providers; advertisers; marketing partners; data analytics providers; third-party advertising platforms (purchase data); product brands and advertisers through a retail media network (de-identified); USDA FNS for SNAP purchases; law enforcement and legal process. Policy updated 2025-10-29, read 2026-09-25.
Data brokers linked to Wegmans
None. The research documents no flow between Wegmans and a data broker.
Data practices score
7 of 12 scored. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 2
- Enforcement
- 0
- Retail media scale
- unscored
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 2
Retail media scale is unscored: Wegmans linked its retail media platform to Rippl in 2024 (Grocery Dive) and discloses no revenue. Sells or shares is 2 because the policy describes its sharing as targeted advertising and never as a sale.
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- Retail media platform revenue and Shoppers Club member count not disclosed; retail_media_scale left null.
- The NYC store signage lists eye scans and voiceprints among biometric identifiers that may be collected; the privacy policy says biometric information is limited to facial recognition and that Security Equipment records no audio. The research does not establish which applies in which stores.
- The policy does not describe any sharing as a sale and states no compensation. Whether sharing identified purchase data with advertising platforms is a sale under state law is not established.
- No marketing email count found.
Sources (4)
- https://gothamist.com/news/nyc-wegmans-is-storing-biometric-data-on-shoppers-eyes-voices-and-faces 2026-01-03
- https://www.cnn.com/2026/01/12/business/wegmans-facial-recognition-technology 2026-01-12
- https://www.wegmans.com/privacy 2025-10-29
- https://www.grocerydive.com/news/giant-eagle-wegmans-retail-media-network-regional-grocer-rippl/717878/ 2024-06-04
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.