What Amazon does with your data
Grocery and mass retail. People use it through a rewards program, app, or connected service.
Data current as of 2026-09-25; statuses change.
- Program or app
- Amazon account / Prime (plus Whole Foods, Amazon Fresh, Alexa, Ring)
- Members
- 201 million members (2025). Analyst estimate by Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (CIRP) of US Amazon shoppers using a Prime membership as of the December 2025 quarter (post dated 2026-03-03). Counts individual users, not paying households. Amazon does not disclose Prime membership.
- Retail media
- Amazon Ads. Ad revenue $68635 million (2025), reported
What it collects and does with your data
- Privacy notice states Amazon is 'not in the business of selling our customers' personal information to others' and lists four sharing categories: third-party transactions, service providers, business transfers, and protection of Amazon and others.
- Privacy notice says Amazon physical stores 'may use cameras, computer vision, sensors, and other technology to gather information about your activity in the store.'
- Privacy notice says Amazon uses personal data to develop or deploy its generative AI models and services.
- 10-K reports advertising services revenue of $68.635B in 2025, up from $56.214B in 2024; ads are sold on a per-click or per-impression basis.
Sensitive data
- in-store cameras and computer vision (Just Walk Out)
- voice recordings (Alexa)
- children's voice and geolocation data (per FTC COPPA complaint)
- home video (Ring)
- precise location (alleged SDK collection, pending suit)
- payment
- health (Amazon Pharmacy, One Medical; not researched in detail)
Enforcement and litigation
5 matters in the research. Where the research says alleged, pending, or settled without admitting wrongdoing, so does this page.
- FTC v. Amazon (ROSCA): FTC alleged Amazon used dark patterns to enroll consumers in Prime and obstructed cancellation. Settled: $1B civil penalty plus $1.5B in customer refunds. Amount: $2.5 billion.
- DOJ/FTC COPPA action over Alexa retention of children's voice and geolocation data. Settled with $25M civil penalty. Amount: $25 million.
- FTC action against Ring over employee and contractor access to customer videos. Settled for $5.8M. Amount: $5.8 million.
- Maxwell v. Amazon.com, Inc. and Amazon Advertising LLC (W.D. Wash. 2:25-cv-261): first class action under Washington's My Health My Data Act, alleging Amazon SDKs in third-party apps collected location data without consent. Pending as of last report found.
- Illinois BIPA class actions (Wilcosky, Hogan, others) alleging biometric collection via Amazon Photos, Alexa, Amazon Connect, virtual try-on, and Just Walk Out. Amazon disputes the allegations; pending per 10-K.
Who else holds your data
Organizations holding a copy of your data, as the research counts them: at least 5. Lower bound: Amazon plus its four disclosed sharing categories, each counted as at least one organization. Advertisers reach you through Amazon Ads and Amazon Marketing Cloud without receiving the raw record, so they are not counted.
Third parties: 4 disclosed recipient categories. Four sharing categories in the main notice. Separate state-specific and consumer health data disclosures exist and were not parsed.
Data brokers linked to Amazon
None. The research documents no flow between Amazon and a data broker.
Data practices score
14 of 15. Five components, each 0 to 3. How the score works
- Sells or shares
- 2
- Enforcement
- 3
- Retail media scale
- 3
- Sensitive data
- 3
- Opt-out friction
- 3
Estimated emissions for one person
Research gaps
- Amazon does not disclose Prime membership; denominator is a CIRP estimate of US users.
- No measured email frequency study found for Amazon.
- State-specific privacy disclosures and Consumer Health Data Privacy Disclosure not parsed.
- No verified primary-source Amazon CPM.
Sources (7)
- https://cirpamazon.substack.com/p/walmart-growsto-a-fraction-of-amazon
- https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872426000004/amzn-20251231.htm 2026-02-06
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GX7NJQ4ZB8MHFRNJ 2026-06-30
- https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2025/09/ftc-secures-historic-25-billion-settlement-against-amazon 2025-09-25
- https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/blog/2023/05/out-mouths-babes-ftc-says-amazon-kept-kids-alexa-voice-data-forever-even-after-parents-ordered 2023-05-31
- https://www.cnbc.com/2023/05/31/ftc-sues-amazon-over-ring-doorbell-privacy-violations.html 2023-05-31
- https://www.wilmerhale.com/en/insights/blogs/wilmerhale-privacy-and-cybersecurity-law/20250220-first-lawsuit-filed-under-washingtons-my-health-my-data-act 2025-02-10
The Sources page lists these with their kind and what else uses them.